Aerial view of the LSU Campus

LSU Digital and Continuing Education Hosts Fall Innovation Series

Newsroom | LSU Online News Nov. 13, 2019
LSU Online award recipients

LSU Digital and Continuing Education, or DCE, hosted its bi-annual event, Innovation Series: Fierce for Transformation, on Nov. 11 at LSU Lod Cook Alumni Center. This event brought together all LSU campuses and neighboring higher education institutions to initiate conversations through exploring new developments, trends, and best practices in the realm of online and digital education.

“We are changing the landscape of higher education with a new sustainable model,” said Sasha Thackaberry, vice president of DCE. “This event brings together administrators, faculty, and staff leading this initiative by promoting a culture of innovation and transformational change; exploring improvement in large-scale educational reform initiatives in the U.S. and around the world; and assisting in delivering and executing creative solutions to challenges as it relates to program development, course design, and teaching.”

Thackaberry kicked off the event with a panel discussion on “The Change Imperative: Accelerating Innovation” with Jeff D. Borden, executive director, Institute for Inter-Connected Education and Chief Academic Officer, Ucroo Digital Campus; Michael Moore, vice president for academic affairs for the University of Arkansas System and the chief academic and operating officer for eVersity; and John Tannous, director of research delivery at EAB. The panelists discussed the necessity of speed in innovating to meet the challenges of higher education.

Breakout sessions included speakers Borden on “Creating a Culture of (Learning) Innovation,” Moore on “Threading a Needle During a Storm: Navigating the Tumultuous Climate Facing Higher Education,” John Tannous on “State of the Union for Higher Education Enrollment and Online Education” and “Emerging Fields, Formats, and Credentials in Graduate and Professional Education,” and finally a panel discussion with DCE learning experience design and development team and faculty on “Transforming Design and Teaching.”

Thackaberry also presented four “Faculty Innovator” awards, seven “Leading Transformation” awards, three “Reinventing the Student Experience” awards, two “Integrating Technology for Innovation” awards, and a special “Getting Stuff Done” award.

“These LSU faculty and team members have been our early adopters and demonstrated extraordinary commitment to innovation,” Thackaberry said. “The advocacy, time, effort and talent they have dedicated to providing high-quality online programming with world-class customer service has been truly remarkable, and their efforts are bearing fruit in expanding access for post-traditional learners that love LSU—both across Louisiana and beyond.”

See full list of 2019 Innovation Series award recipients:

Faculty Innovator Award recipients.

“Faculty Innovator” Award

  • Mary Treuting, LSUA, chair and professor of psychology
  • Tim Trant, LSUE, professor of psychology
  • Crystal Johnson, LSU, associate professor, Department of Environmental Sciences
  • Stephanie Heumann, LSU, instructor, construction management undergraduate coordinator
Leading Transformation Award recipients.

“Leading Transformation” Award

  • Troy Blanchard, LSU, interim dean, College of Humanities and Social Sciences, professor of sociology
  • Charles Berryman, LSU, professor, construction management department chair
  • Arend Van Gemmert, LSU associate professor, School of Kinesiology
  • Teresa Seymour, LSUA, director of distance learning
  • Doug Narby, LSUE, associate professor of psychology & faculty advisor-liberal arts
  • Sally McKechnie, LSU, assistant vice president procurement & property management
  • Kimberly Williams, LSU, online programs manager & instructor, Department of Construction Management
Integrating Technology for Innovation Award recipients.

“Integrating Technology for Innovation” Award

  • Cherie Taylor, LSU, solutions architect, student systems/manager
  • Bethany Stinson, LSU, business analyst
Reinventing the Student Experience Award recipients

“Reinventing the Student Experience” Award

  • Amy Marix, LSU, associate director - federal aid & scholarships
  • Monica Esnault, LSU, associate director, collections & perkins loan
  • Beth Nettles, LSU, associate director, call center, customer service & merchant services
Getting Stuff Done Award recipients

“Getting Stuff Done” Award

A special “Getting Stuff Done” Award was presented by Thackaberry to Executive Vice President & Provost Stacia Haynie, who assertively drives innovation in support of the institution’s land, sea, and space-grant institution.

Ready to reach your goals?

Take the first step forward by completing the form and our enrollment team will contact you soon to discuss:

  • What program meets your academic and career goals
  • Financial aid options (employer funding, military benefits)
  • Receiving credit for past education (transfer, professional development)
  • The admissions process and timeline
Email is invalid
Phone is invalid
Zip is invalid

I agree to the Privacy Agreement